Choosing a book light depends on your reading environment: neck lights offer hands-free use for long sessions, bookmark-style lights clip directly to the page, and clip-on lights mount to the book or headboard. Glocusent provides options with 1800K–6000K color temperatures, 3–140 lumen brightness, and battery life up to 200 hours depending on the model.
If you’ve typed ‘how to choose book lights’ into a search engine, you’re probably looking for a portable lighting solution that won’t disturb others and is gentle on your eyes. This guide uses only the specifications published by Glocusent to help you compare the main types of book lights.
Glocusent offers three form factors – neck lights, bookmark-style lights, and clip-on lights – each with different brightness levels, color temperatures, and battery capacities. Below you’ll find the key criteria to consider, common pitfalls to avoid, and specific product examples from the brand’s catalog.



Who This Guide Is For
This guide is for anyone who reads in bed, travels frequently, knits or crafts in dim light, or wants a dedicated reading lamp that doesn’t rely on overhead lighting. Based on Glocusent’s product categories, their book lights are designed for book lovers, knitters, campers, and night readers. If you need a light that won’t shine in a partner’s eyes, or one that can clip onto a book or wrap around your neck for hands-free use, the criteria below will help you decide.
Key Criteria to Compare
1. Form factor – Neck lights wrap around your neck and aim light downward (ideal for hands-free reading). Bookmark-style lights clip onto the pages like a bookmark. Clip-on lights attach to the book’s cover or headboard. Choose based on mobility and whether you need your hands free.
2. Brightness (lumens) – Glocusent models range from 3 lumens (dim nightlight) up to 140 lumens for detailed tasks. Higher lumens are better for crafts or repairs; lower lumens suit bedtime reading.
3. Color temperature (Kelvin) – Models offer 1800K (warm amber, low blue light) up to 6000K (cool white). Amber/red modes (e.g., 1800K or 1600K) are marketed for reducing blue light exposure. Some lights also include a red LED mode.
4. Battery life – Ranges from a stated 100 hours (neck light with 1200mAh battery) up to 200 hours for the bookmark-style Pro Max model (800mAh battery). Actual runtime depends on brightness setting.
5. CRI (Color Rendering Index) – Some models specify a CRI of 95 or ≥90, which means colors on the page appear more natural. Not all models publish this spec.
6. Special features – Timers (auto-shutoff), travel lock, memory function for last brightness setting, and stepless dimming are offered on select models. Check the product description for availability.
Common Mistakes When Choosing a Book Light
Ignoring battery life for your reading session length – If you read for several hours every night, a model with 200 hours of battery life (at low brightness) may be more practical than one with 100 hours. However, actual runtime at higher brightness is not stated by the brand.
Overlooking color temperature options – A fixed warm light may feel too dim for detailed work, while a cool white only may be harsh for falling asleep. Glocusent models often include multiple color temperatures (e.g., 1800K to 6000K) so you can switch between them.
Choosing the wrong form factor for your hands-free needs – Clip-on lights require the book to be held or resting on a surface; neck lights let you move freely without holding the light. Think about how you actually read.
Questions to Ask the Brand Before Buying
Based on Glocusent’s published policies, here are questions you can check on their site:
- Warranty: Does the product come with the standard 30-day money-back promises? Customers who register their purchase may receive an extended 36-month warranty – not stated if all products qualify.
- Shipping: Standard local shipping is offered in the United States, Europe, Japan, and Australia. Free standard shipping applies if the order includes more than one unit. Single-unit shipping cost is not stated in the data.
- Returns: Undamaged products with original packaging can be returned within 30 days for a full refund after inspection.
- Battery specs: Is the battery removable? Not stated by the brand. All lights appear to be rechargeable via USB (USB-C on newer models).
Examples from Glocusent's Product Line
glocusent-newly-upgraded-slimmer-led-neck-reading-light – Neck light with 5 color temperatures (1800K–6000K), 5 brightness levels (3–140 lumens), 1200mAh battery, and a stated 100-hour runtime. Ideal for hands-free reading and crafts.
glocusent-pro-max-12-led-bookmark-style-reading-light-add-travel-lock – Bookmark-style light with 12 LEDs, 5 brightness levels (3–60 lumens), stepless dimming, 800mAh battery (up to 200 hours). Includes a travel lock to prevent accidental activation.
glocusent-26-led-clip-on-reading-light – Clip-on light with 26 LEDs, 4.3-inch lamp head, up to 100 lumens, 5 color temperatures (1800K–6000K), and 5 brightness levels. Wide-angle coverage for full-page illumination.
glocusent-horizontal-et-head-book-light – Clip-on light with a horizontal head, amber mode (1800K), CRI 95, and 9 LEDs. Designed to reduce blue light as stated by the brand (99.99% blocked in amber mode).
Checklist Before You Order
- Confirm the form factor fits how you read (neck, bookmark, or clip-on).
- Check battery capacity (mAh) and stated runtime on the product page – note that runtime depends on brightness level.
- Look at the color temperature range and whether the model offers the warm amber (1800K) or red mode you prefer.
- Verify that accessories (e.g., USB cable) are included and check the warranty terms (30-day return, extended warranty upon registration).
- Read the shipping policy: Glocusent ships to the US, Europe, Japan, and Australia; free shipping for multi-unit orders. Single-unit shipping cost is not stated.
Glocusent Newly Upgraded Slimmer LED Neck Reading Light
Glocusent 26 LED Clip on Reading Light
Glocusent Horizontal ET-head Amber Book Light with CRI 95 for Book Lovers
Frequently asked questions
How long does the battery last on a Glocusent book light?
Battery life varies by model. The Newly Upgraded Slimmer Neck Light has a 1200mAh battery with a stated 100-hour runtime at unspecified brightness. The Pro Max Bookmark Light has an 800mAh battery with up to 200 hours of runtime. Actual battery life depends on the brightness and color temperature settings used.
What color temperature is best for reading in bed?
Glocusent offers several warm options. Models with 1800K amber light block 99.99% of blue light according to the brand (e.g., Horizontal ET-head Book Light) or 1600K amber and 630nm red light on the 26 LED Red & Amber model. These warmer settings are marketed for reducing eye strain before sleep.
Can I use a neck light while lying down?
Yes – the neck light is designed to be worn around the neck and the flexible arms can be adjusted to aim light downward onto the page. The brand states it works for reading in bed, knitting, and camping. The Slim Curve Neck Light weighs 124g and uses anti-slip silicone for stability.
What is the warranty on Glocusent book lights?
Glocusent offers a 30-day money-back promises for undamaged products returned with original packaging. Customers who register their purchase may receive an extended 36-month warranty. Check the brand’s website for specific terms.
Are the lights USB rechargeable?
Yes – all current models listed are rechargeable. Newer models (e.g., Pro Max Bookmark Light) use USB-C, while older models (e.g., Bookmark Style Reading Light) use standard USB. The specific charging time is not stated by the brand.






