Based on Autel US published specs, the MaxiSys line offers tools ranging from entry-level diagnostic tablets to advanced platforms with EV and heavy-duty support. Your choice depends on which vehicle types you service (gas, diesel, EV, commercial) and whether you need ADAS calibration, coding, or programming capabilities.
Autel MaxiSys diagnostic scanners are designed for professional workshops and technicians who need OE-level diagnostics, coding, and service functions. The brand’s published information shows a range of tablets from the MaxiCOM MK808Z-BT to the high-end MaxiSYS Ultra S2, each with different screen sizes, processors, storage, and vehicle coverage.
This guide uses only Autel US published data to help you compare key specifications and choose the model that fits your workflow. No prices, ratings, or first-hand experience are included—only facts from the brand’s own product pages.



Who this guide is for
This guide is for professional automotive technicians, shop owners, and advanced DIYers who are evaluating Autel MaxiSys diagnostic tablets. Based on Autel US product descriptions, these tools are aimed at workshops performing full-system diagnostics, ECU coding, service functions, and specialized tasks like TPMS service, ADAS calibration, or high-voltage EV diagnostics.
Key criteria to consider
- Vehicle coverage: Autel MaxiSys models cover U.S., Asian, and European vehicles (1996 and newer). Some models add heavy-duty trucks (80+ brands) or electric/hybrid high-voltage systems.
- Diagnostic depth: Look for OE-level full-system scanning, bi-directional active tests, coding, adaptations, and service functions (40+ tasks for some models).
- Special functions: TPMS service, ADAS calibration, battery pack analysis, and EV high-voltage diagnostics are available on specific models (e.g., MS906 Pro2-TS, Ultra ADAS, Ultra EV).
- Hardware specs: Screen size (9.7” to 13.7”), processor (quad-core to octa-core), RAM (4 GB to 12 GB), and storage (64 GB to 512 GB) affect multitasking and speed.
- Connectivity: Most models include Bluetooth VCI (MaxiVCI or MaxiFlash) for wireless communication. DoIP and CAN FD support is mentioned on newer VCI units.
- Software updates: Some models include 1-year or 2-year free updates; a 5-year update option is available for select scanners (e.g., MS906MAX).
Common mistakes to avoid
- Overlooking vehicle type: If you service only light-duty gasoline vehicles, a heavy-duty truck scanner like the MS909CV may have unnecessary features and cost.
- Ignoring ADAS needs: For modern shops that align cameras and sensors, a model without ADAS calibration (like the basic MK808Z-BT) won’t be sufficient.
- Not checking ECU coding support: Not all MaxiSys models offer advanced coding—confirm this if you need to reprogram ECUs or perform adaptations.
- Forgetting EV capability: If you work on electric or hybrid vehicles, verify that the model supports high-voltage system diagnostics and battery pack analysis.
Questions to ask the brand
- What is the exact list of vehicle makes and model years supported for full-system diagnostics?
- Which active tests, special functions, and coding capabilities are available for my target vehicle brands?
- Does the model support J2534 pass-thru programming? (stated for Elite II Pro and Ultra S2)
- What is the software update policy after the included free period? (not stated by the brand beyond initial terms)
- Is the MaxiVCI or MaxiFlash VCI included in the package, and does it support DoIP and CAN FD?
Examples from the brands in the DATA
The following product handles from Autel US illustrate different tiers based on published specs:
- autel-maxisys-ms919-s2us-ver-android-13-11-inch-anti-glare-screen-12gb-256gb-storage – 11-inch anti-glare screen, Android 13, 12GB RAM, 256GB storage, Topology Mapping 3.0.
- autel-maxisys-ms909cv – Heavy-duty truck diagnostics covering 80+ commercial brands and 60+ off-highway brands.
- autel-maxisys-elite-ii-pro-2-year-free-software-updates – OE-level J2534 programming, 3000+ active tests, 40+ services, 2-year free updates.
- autel-maxisys-ultraev-ev-high-voltage-system-diagnostic-scanner – EV high-voltage diagnostics with battery pack offline analysis, compatible with Ultra/MaxSYS tablets.
Checklist before you order
- Confirm which vehicle types you service most (light-duty, heavy-duty, EV, or all).
- Check the included VCI: Does it support DoIP and CAN FD? (MaxiVCI V200 does; MaxiVCI Mini does not mention).
- Verify whether you need ADAS calibration – if yes, consider the IA900WA frame or Ultra ADAS.
- Note the return policy: 30-day returns, free for defective items, customer pays shipping for non-quality returns.
- Standard shipping is free within the continental U.S. (4-6 business days), but expedited options are available at additional cost.
Frequently asked questions
What does Autel MaxiSys cover for vehicle types?
Based on Autel US published specs, most MaxiSys models cover U.S., Asian, and European vehicles from 1996 and newer. Heavy-duty models like the MS909CV add 80+ commercial brands and 60+ off-highway manufacturers. The Ultra EV and MS909EV also include high-voltage system diagnostics for electric and hybrid vehicles.
Can I perform ADAS calibration with any MaxiSys scanner?
No. ADAS calibration is a specialized function available on specific models like the MaxiSYS Ultra ADAS and the IA900WA Wheel Alignment and ADAS Calibration Frame. Other MaxiSys tablets may require additional accessories or software not stated by the brand.
What is included in the box for a typical MaxiSys tablet?
The brand product pages indicate that most tablets include a Bluetooth VCI (MaxiVCI or MaxiFlash), a power adapter, and a carrying case. Specific packages vary—for example, the MS919 S2 includes the MaxiFlash VCMI, while the MK808Z-BT includes a MaxiVCI V200. Always check the product listing for the exact contents.
How long do software updates last on Autel MaxiSys tools?
Software update terms differ by model. The Elite II Pro offers 2-year free updates as stated on its product page. The MS906MAX has a 1-year free update option, with a 5-year update option available. Other models like the MS919 S2 or MS909 S2 do not specify update duration in the provided data; contact Autel US for details.
What should I do if my scanner arrives defective?
Autel US states a 30-day return policy. For defective, damaged, or incorrectly shipped items, return shipping is free. You must request a return via support@autel-us.com and send the item back to their Wheeling, IL address. Non-quality returns are subject to customer-paid return shipping.






