Home / Guides / Article

How to Choose Patch Wire: Autel Diagnostic Cables Guide

How to Choose Patch Wire: Autel Diagnostic Cables Guide
Disclosure: We earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Facts below come from the brand’s own published pages, checked 2026-10-24. We have not tested the products ourselves.
Quick verdict

Choosing the right patch wire from Autel depends on your diagnostic tool compatibility and the vehicle protocols you need. Autel offers four types: a Bluetooth VCI, a mini VCI, a CAN FD adapter, and an EV diagnostics kit. Each is designed for specific Autel scanners and vehicle communication standards.

Visit Autel US

If you’re searching for ‘how to choose patch wire’ for Autel diagnostic tools, you’re likely looking for the correct communication interface or adapter cable for your scanner. Autel’s patch wire category includes four products that serve different purposes: wireless VCI units, a CAN FD protocol adapter, and an EV battery diagnostics kit.

Based on Autel’s published specs, each product has specific compatibility requirements. This guide uses only Autel’s own information to help you match the right patch wire to your scanner and vehicle needs.

Who this guide is for

This guide is for automotive technicians and DIYers who own or plan to buy an Autel diagnostic scanner and need to select the appropriate communication interface or adapter cable (referred to as ‘patch wire’ by Autel). It is relevant if you work with modern vehicles using CAN FD or DoIP protocols, or if you diagnose electric vehicle battery packs.

Key criteria

  • Scanner compatibility – Each patch wire works only with specific Autel scanners. Verify that your scanner model is listed in the product’s description.
  • Protocol support – Determine which vehicle communication protocols you need. Options include CAN FD, DoIP, CAN, EOBD, OBDII. The VCI200 supports CAN FD and DoIP; the CAN FD Adapter adds CAN FD support; the VCI Mini supports Bluetooth and USB 2.0 but does not specify CAN FD.
  • Wireless range (if needed) – The VCI200 offers Bluetooth connectivity up to 75 feet, while the VCI Mini uses Bluetooth V2.1+EDR with no stated range.
  • Power source – Both VCI units draw power from the vehicle’s DLC (12V). No external battery required.
  • Specialized functionality – If you diagnose electric vehicles, the EV Diagnostics Upgrade Kit includes adapters for BMW, Tesla, VW and performs State of Charge and State of Health analysis.

Common mistakes

  • Assuming universal compatibility – Not all patch wires work with all Autel scanners. For example, the EV kit is only compatible with MaxiSys Ultra, Ultra ADAS, MS919, and MS909 tablets. The VCI Mini works with a different set (MS906S, TS608, MP808TS, etc.).
  • Overlooking protocol needs – If you work on newer GM vehicles, the CAN FD Adapter is a must-have. The VCI Mini does not support CAN FD according to its specs.
  • Choosing a VCI without checking Bluetooth version – The VCI Mini uses Bluetooth V2.1+EDR, which may have slower data transfer compared to the VCI200’s unspecified but likely newer Bluetooth.
  • Neglecting EV diagnostics requirements – The EV kit requires a MaxiFlash VCI or VCMI to connect; it does not work standalone.

Questions to ask the brand

  • Which Autel scanners are compatible with the VCI Mini? – Based on data, it works with MS906S, TS608, MP808TS, MK808BT, MK808TS, MK900T.
  • Does the CAN FD Adapter work with non-Autel scan tools? – The brand states it is compatible with a wide range of Autel diagnostic tools, but does not mention other brands.
  • What is the warranty period for patch wire products? – Not stated by the brand.
  • Can the VCI200 be used with a tablet other than the listed ones? – Brand data lists compatibility with ITS600, MS906MAX, MK906PRO, MS906PRO-TS, KM100, BT608.
  • Are there any additional cables needed for the EV diagnostics kit? – The kit includes the EVDiag Box and adapters; it connects to MaxiFlash VCI or VCMI (not included).

Examples from the brands in the DATA

Autel offers four patch wire products based on the data provided:

  • autel-maxisys-ev-diagnostics-upgrade-kit-compatible-with-the-maxisys-ultra-maxisys-ultra-adas-maxisys-ms919-and-maxisys-ms909-tablets – An EV Diagnostics Upgrade Kit with EVDiag Box and adapters for BMW, Tesla, VW. Performs battery pack State of Charge and State of Health analysis. Compatible with Ultra series, MS919, MS909 tablets.
  • autel-maxisys-maxivci-vci-200-bluetooth-diagnostic-interface-works-with-its600-ms906max-mk906pro-ms906pro-ts-km100-bt608 – The MaxiVCI V200 Bluetooth interface with range up to 75 feet. Supports CAN FD, DoIP, CAN, EOBD, OBD, OBDII. Data transfer up to 5 Mbit/s.
  • autel-maxisys-maxivci-vci-mini-bluetooth-diagnostic-interface-work-with-ms906s-ts608-mp808ts-mk808bt-mk808ts-mk900t – A smaller Bluetooth VCI (BT V2.1+EDR) that runs on 12V from the vehicle DLC. Weighs 33.1 g. Compatible with specific Autel scanners.
  • autel-can-fd-adapter-compatible-with-autel-scanner-diagnostic-scan-tool – A CAN FD protocol adapter for newer GM vehicles. Works with a wide range of Autel diagnostic tools (model list not fully specified in data).

Checklist before you order

  • Confirm your Autel scanner model is listed in the patch wire’s compatibility list.
  • Identify which vehicle communication protocols you need (CAN FD, DoIP, CAN, etc.).
  • Decide if you need wireless operation (VCI200 or VCI Mini) or a wired adapter (CAN FD Adapter).
  • If working on electric vehicles, verify that the EV Diagnostics Upgrade Kit covers your car brands (BMW, Tesla, VW).
  • Review Autel’s return policy: 30-day returns available, free return shipping for defective/damaged/incorrect items; customer pays for non-quality returns.
  • Check shipping: standard shipping is free within continental US (4-6 business days after processing). Expedited and air options available with additional charges.

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between the VCI200 and the VCI Mini?

Based on Autel’s specs, the VCI200 supports a wider range of protocols including CAN FD and DoIP and offers a Bluetooth range of up to 75 feet. The VCI Mini uses Bluetooth V2.1+EDR, supports only CAN/EOBD/OBD/OBDII (no CAN FD or DoIP mentioned), and is smaller (47x23x51 mm). Compatibility with scanners also differs.

Which Autel scanners are compatible with the EV Diagnostics Upgrade Kit?

The EV kit is compatible with the MaxiSys Ultra, MaxiSys Ultra ADAS, MaxiSys MS919, and MaxiSys MS909 tablets, as stated by Autel. It also requires a MaxiFlash VCI or VCMI to connect.

Does the CAN FD Adapter work with older vehicles?

The CAN FD Adapter is specifically for vehicles using the CAN FD protocol, which is a newer standard found mainly in modern vehicles. It does not mention support for older CAN protocols, so it may not be needed for older cars.

What is the return policy for patch wire products?

Autel offers a 30-day return policy from the date of receipt. Items must be unused, with tags and original packaging. Return shipping is free for defective, damaged, or incorrectly shipped items. For non-quality returns, the customer is responsible for return shipping costs.

Is standard shipping free for patch wires?

Yes, Autel states that standard shipping (4-6 business days after processing) is free on all orders within the continental US. Expedited and air shipping options are available for additional charges.

Sources and data checks: product information, policies and program details were taken from autel-us.com and the GoAffPro program page on 2026-10-24. Brands change products, policies and offers; always confirm on the brand site before you buy.
We earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Links to the brand are marked as sponsored.

More about Autel US

Autel MaxiScope MP608 review
Product reviewAutel US4 min read

Autel MaxiScope MP608 review

Read our Autel MaxiScope MP608 review based on brand specs. A professional 4-channel automotive oscilloscope that connects to Autel MaxiSYS tablets or Windows PCs for advanced diagnostics.

Read the article →